Turbo Tax: Where Is My Stimulus Package?

12May08

I thought I would be getting my stimulus package last Friday according to IRS.gov. To my disappointment there was no stimulus check in my bank account, even though I opted for direct deposit when filing my federal return.

I did some research and the culprit is Turbo Tax in conjunction with their bastardly partner The Santa Barbara Bank & Trust. Here it is straight from the source:

“IMPORTANT — Using “Refund Transfer” with Santa Barbara Bank & Trust could affect when you get your rebate

Even if you have received or will receive your tax refund by direct deposit to your bank account using Santa Barbara Bank & Trust, the IRS will not do the same for your tax rebate. It will mail your rebate instead.

This applies only if you used the “refund transfer” service when filing. The service lets you pay for your tax preparation and/or e-filing from your refund proceeds, for an additional fee, rather than use a credit card.”

Yup you read right. You will be getting a paper check instead of a direct deposit. That means you won’t be getting the check until late in the summer, because direct deposit checks are being issued first.

To read more visit: http://turbotax.intuit.com/support/kb/tax-content/tax-tips/6255.html

11 Responses to “Turbo Tax: Where Is My Stimulus Package?”

  1. FratBoy Investor… Actually, no one is the culprit. It wasn’t until tax season was over before the IRS decided how and when to issue the rebate checks. The decision to issue rebate checks by mail to those who used any bank product (i.e., used a bank to process their refund, pay the tax filing fees and then deposit the balance in your account OR obtained a Refund Anticipation Loan, which TurboTax does not offer) was made by the IRS and for valid reasons. This was not a TurboTax or a SBBT decision. This situation affects ALL filers regardless of whether you used TurboTax, another tax software product, an online tax service, a tax professional or a tax franchise.

    While I agree that it’s frustrating (to say the least) to have to wait on your rebate, it is not the fault of TurboTax or SBBT. Had we known back in tax season that rebates would become a reality (they weren’t even around when the tax season started) and how they would be processed by the IRS, we could have done a better job of providing appropriate guidance.

    I hope this information helps.

    Bob Meighan
    VP, TurboTax

  2. 2 Jenny

    I think that it is total bull that we have to wait till mid summer now just because we used turbo tax. We will never use turbo tax again. Stimulus check or not. This service is suppose to be a help to consumers and instead has become a hinderance. Some people actually need these checks that are coming, not for play money or buying fun toys but for bills, food and gas thanx to the crappy economic. They rise the prices on everything and our wages at our jobs go up. The economic wont get better because of these checks. It will only help families get a little caught up and then it will be a day to day struggle again to provide for our families while the big shots in washington laugh it up on their yachts!

  3. 3 Jenny

    “They rise the prices on everything and our wages at our jobs go up.”
    Meant to write that the wages at our jobs are NOT going up to keep up with the rise in prices.

  4. 4 James

    As much as I understand Bob Meighan’s point that it is a government regulation issue, I still have cognitive dissonance now after using Turbo Tax. The reason I have used Turbo Tax in the past was purely convenience, for which I have happily paid the $30. After this year I will no longer use Turbo Tax, as it has now become an inconvenience because I have to wait longer to get my rebate. I wonder how many others will stop using Turbo Tax because of this inconvenience.

  5. 5 Kelly

    Tell me about it! I used TaxAct.com for my return. I got my gov’t issued direct deposit but I have not gotten my stimulus check by may 9 like I was supposed to. I won’t get mine until June 27! The government fines us for being late but if they’re late, oh well right?!

  6. 6 Joe

    Stupid Turbo Tax. I’ll never use it again.

  7. 7 Jack

    Maybe right now would be a good time for one of these tax companies to step up, own the problem, and do some kind of customer recovery (rebates on future products)?

  8. I filed my returns using Turbo tax in February 2009. I received the exact Federal and state refunds mentioned by Turbotax during filing. I opted for direct deposit to my account. Now as per this blog, I am supposed to get the stimulus package by mail? When will I get it? Any ideas pl.


  1. 1 Turbo Tax: Where Is My Stimulus Package?
  2. 2 Tax » Turbo Tax: Where Is My Stimulus Package?
  3. 3 Turbo Tax: Where Is My Stimulus Package?

Leave a Reply

